## WiA 2014 Workshop Programme

Updated 22-Aug-14

## We Are All Made of Stars: Establishing Equity and Diversity within Australian Astronomy

| Time           | Session   | Speaker/Moderator               | Organisation                                    |
|----------------|---|---------------------------------|---|
| Thursday 28th  | n August 2014   |                                 |   |
| 9:30-10:00     | Registration  |                                 |   |
| 10:00-10:05    | Welcome   | Prof. Brian Schmidt             | Australian National University                  |
| 10:05-10:20    | Opening   | Senator the Hon. Michaelia Cash | Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Women |
| 10:20-10:40    | Demographics: "Diversity in Australian astronomy"   | Prof. Sarah Maddison            | Swinburne University                            |
| 10:40-11:20    | Inspirational Stories   |                                 |   |
| 10:40-11:00    | "Made in Australia"   | Dr. Minh Huynh                  | ICRAR, University of Western Australia          |
| 11:00-11:20    | "Prop open that closet door"  | Dr. Lisa Harvey-Smith           | CSIRO   |
| 11:20-12:10    | "Gender, parenthood and academic careers in science: understanding the problem and rethinking remedies" | Prof. Gillian Whitehouse        | University of Queensland                        |
| 12:10-1:10     | Lunch Break   |                                 |   |
| 1:10-3:25      | "Engage, empower, enact"  | Malcolm Fialho                  | University of Western Australia                 |
| 3:25-3:40      | Tea Break   |                                 |   |
| 3:40-4:30      | "Delusions of gender? What women and men in science need to know about 'neurosexism"                    | Dr. Cordelia Fine               | University of Melbourne                         |
| 4:30-5:30      | Breakout session: role playing around tricky situations   | Moderator: Prof. Brian Schmidt  | Australian National University                  |
| 5:30-5:35      | Announcement of ICRAR Visiting Fellowship for Senior Women Astronomers                                  | Dr. Renu Sharma                 | ICRAR, University of Western Australia          |
| 7:00 +         | Dinner  |                                 |   |
| Fulder 204     |   |                                 |   |
| Friday 29th Au | Jgust 2014  |                                 |   |
| 9:30-10:30     | Experiential session: "We Are All Made of Stars: The Mind of Equity and Diversity"                      |                                 |   |

|  | 9:30-10:30  | Experiential session: "We Are All Made of Stars: The Mind of Equity and Diversity"           | Dr Natalie McDonagh, Vicky Shukuroglou and Jessica Connor Kennedy | McDonagh Design   |
|--|-------------|--|---|---|
|  | 10:30-11:00 | Morning break  |   |   |
|  | 11:00-12:00 | Experiential session continued: "We Are All Made of Stars: The Mind of Equity and Diversity" | Jessica connor kennedy  |   |
|  | 12:00-1:00  | Lunch break  |   |   |
|  | 1:00-1:45   | "Male champions of change"   | Elizabeth Broderick   | Australian Human Rights Sex Discrimination Commissioner                     |
|  | 1:45-2:45   | Breakout session: Top 5 things to change in the Australian Astronomy Community               | Moderator: Prof. Matthew Colless                                  | Australian National University  |
|  | 2:45-3:00   | Tea break  |   |   |
|  | 3:00-4:15   | Panel Discussion: "Bringing Change to Australian Institution"                                | Moderator: Elizabeth Broderick                                    | Australian Human Rights Sex Discrimination Commissioner                     |
|  |             |  | Panel members:  |   |
|  |             |  | Prof. Margaret Harding  | Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Australian National University             |
|  |             |  | Prof. Linda Kristjanson   | Vice-Chancellor, Swinburne University                                       |
|  |             |  | Prof. Aidan Byrne   | CEO, Australian Research Council  |
|  |             |  | Dr Megan Clark  | CEO, CSIRO  |
|  |             |  | Prof. Terry Speed   | Recipient of Prime Minister's Prize for Science 2013, Walter and Eliza Hall |
|  | 4:15-4:45   | Launch of WiA Awards   | Dr. Lisa Harvey-Smith   | Astronomical Society of Australia Women in Astronomy Chapter, President     |
|  | 4:45-5:00   | Conclusion   | Celine d'Orgeville and Prof. Brian Schmidt                        | Chairs of the 2014 WiA Workshop, Australian National University             |
|  |             |  |   |   |